Repetition … again!

Repetition is a powerful thing.

I thought I was a bad language learner, because I anticipated that I should be able to remember a word after seeing it 2 or 3 times.  I felt a huge sense of relief when I read people often have to see a new word 20 times before it sticks.

Repetition is something I am not making the best use of in my learning.  I look up a word in the dictionary, write it in a letter once, write it down on a list of interesting words, and promptly forget about it and move on to new, shiny words.    Only those words I use all the time, that I have looked up many times, have really stuck.  I’m dabbling with various flash card techniques, but none has seemed to perfect fit for me.

I do enjoy taking pictures and putting Korean words on them.  I look at my own picture flashcards more than any other method, especially if I have used a picture of someone I know.   Have my blog readers noticed I change those flashcards weekly?

When I was in Toastmasters, I use to give speeches.  Every speech was unique.  I never thought to try giving the speech more than once, to see how I could improve upon repetition until I met the District President who was visiting all the clubs in his District giving the same speech.  I found that when I gave a speech over and over, it could be perfected.  Of course, you have to keep finding new audiences who haven’t heard the speech yet.  Haha.

In the same way, I should try repeating Korean words I know and find new ways to use them.  Having a core set of words that I am so familiar with that I could use reflexively would help with making myself understood when I try to communicate.  I need more than just hello, thank you, give me please, and good bye.  But I don’t need 2000 words I have seen just once.  I need the comfortable words I can readily use without having to look them up, even if that is just 50 words.

 

Baby Dinosaur would say “Again!”  (Remember this TV show?)

This entry was posted in Korean and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

