As though no one can hear you

“Dance as though no one is watching you,
Love as though you have never been hurt before,
Sing as though no one can hear you,
Live as though heaven is on earth.”


― Souza

I had a discussion today with one of the kind-hearted Koreans who is helping me learn.  I made a mistake 실수 in spelling the word for formal level of speech in Korean (존댓말) while we were chatting.  This led to me saying that Talk To Me In Korean teacher said on Catch The Wave program that it really bugs him when people put 존댓말 and 반말 together in one sentence.  I’ve sort of been stressing out ever since I heard that.  I feel so proud of myself if I can scrape up one word of Korean from my brain when I am attempting to speak.  If I had to worry about politeness level now, I would never open my mouth.

So I told my Korean language exchange partner that I was going to

speak Korean as if no one can hear me.

It was the same principle as dance as if no one is watching.  That led to me explaining about the Sousa quote above.

My contribution to returning the favor of all the Korean help I get was to explain the English word “bug”.

  1. Bug is a noun 명사 meaning insect.
  2. Bug is a noun that means a computer programming mistake.   (story)
  3. Bug also is a verb 동사 to irritate.

Phew, language is complicated and strange!  English is hard.  Thank heavens I am learning a more logical language like Korean. ㅋㅋㅋ

Quote | This entry was posted in Interpals, Korean and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

