Reading in Korean: How to change the world through small actions

I am getting the hang of using real world text to create a lesson in LingQ for learning.  On the Korea Herald website, I found a bilingual article that had been translated from English to Korean.  I imported the text into a new lesson.  Now I can slowly work my way through the article.  The white words are ones I already know.  The yellow words are ones I am learning (lingQ’s).  The blue words I haven’t figured out yet.lingtext

Once a lesson has been created, it can be published to the rest of the LingQ members or kept private.  If other members like the lesson, they can give you a “rose”, which is equivalent to “like” in Facebook.

Looking at the text shows me lots of examples of Korean sentence structure.

Making LingQ‘s is like designating that this is a word I want to learn.  These are the words for my flashcards, cloze(1), and multiple choice tests.

Yes, there are tests.  😦  This lazy student is avoiding those for now …  however, I will grant that automatically generated multiple choice and cloze tests from lessons you create is cool.

Multiple choice quiz

Multiple choice quiz

The lessons I have created so far are

 

word in sentence cloze test

word in sentence cloze test

(1).  What is Cloze?

Cloze test is a technique in which words are deleted from a passage. The passage is presented to students, who insert words as they read to complete and construct meaning from the text. This procedure can be used as a diagnostic reading assessment technique.

What is its purpose?

It is used:

  • to identify students’ knowledge and understanding of the reading process
  • to assess the extent of students’ vocabularies and knowledge of a subject
  • to encourage students to monitor for meaning while reading
  • to encourage students to think critically and analytically about text and content

 

Example:

  1. Supply choices for the blanks.

Just as ____________have fur, birds have ____________.

(coats, animals) (feathers, wings)

 

This entry was posted in Korean, Learning and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

