Unicode and Korean Language

“So I have an announcement to make: if you are a programmer working in 2014 and you don’t know the basics of characters, character sets, encodings, and Unicode, and I catch you, I’m going to punish you by making you peel onions for 6 months in a submarine. I swear I will.”
The Absolute Minimum Every Software Developer Absolutely, Positively Must Know About Unicode and Character Sets (No Excuses!)
by Joel Spolsky

I am a former programmer. I knew lots of gritty details about the inner workings of computers from the dark ages of punch cards through to the glory days of the Internet boom at the turn of the century.  So I know that working with multiple languages at the same time in one piece of software is a challenge.  One of the things necessary for technology to do it’s magic is Unicode.

At the very minimum, any software I write will need to handle English, Korean, Chinese, and Japanese.  Maybe all in the same sentence.

In English, you just need to show letters A – Z in upper and lower case, plus a few accents and umlauts.   In Hangul, you need 11,172 syllable combinations.

Unicode contains special characters for representing the Korean language.  On a Windows platform, every one of the 11,172 syllable combinations is a code and a pre-formed font character.

When you see something like this in an HTML page, it is explaining what type of unicode encoding is used in this document  <meta http-equiv=“Content-Type” content=“text/html; charset=utf-8”>.

My head is stuffed with little programming application ideas I’ve had since starting to learn Korean.  I’m researching.  My friend Justin said,  “Programming is easy, finishing is hard.” Haha.  So true.

Quote | This entry was posted in Korean, Tech and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

