Ryan’s Notes: Making a word

Ryan from Mindpasta created notes on Korean language.  Here is an exerpt from “Part 2 – Grammar Making a Word” where he presents postpostition (particles).  Check out his full note on the site and take the quiz.  It is a nice review.

Also, you might want to read his many other notes about Korean language, and while you are there say hi to the other learners and maybe play a game of rock, paper, scissors.

Making a word!

Making Korean words  consists of  word and a postposition.

Examples:

나 = I  /  나의 = My  /  내것 = Mine
너 = You  /  너의 = Your  /  네것 = Yours
그남자 = He  /  그남자의 = His  /  그남자의 것 = His
그여자 = She  /  그여자의 = Her  / 그여자의 것  = Hers

Here, you can see postposition “의” in the words above.
Korean language has a few postpositions and this postposition is located at the end of word.
I think that if you know some postpositions, it will be very useful to make words and sentences.

To speak Korean, you should know the following postpositions.

Examples:

~(pronoun), ~(pronoun), ~(pronoun) or ~(pronoun) : the subjective

ex) I am a boy = 나(I)[는] 소년(boy) 이다(am)
Time is gold = 시간(time)[은] 금(gold) 이다(is)
You should do it = 네(you)[가] 그것(it)을 해야한다(should do)

~(noun) : the possessive  ” equal to   ‘s  or of ”
ex) This is my father’s car.

~(noun) or ~(noun) : the object
ex) I buy a car = 나(I)는 차(car)[] 산다(buy)
I love you = 나(I)는 너(you)[를] 사랑한다(love)
Give it to me = 그것(it)[을] 나에게(to me) 주어라(give)

~(noun)으로, ~(noun)에게 are equal to “to (place)” but we attach it to end of noun
ex) Give it to me = 그것(it)을 나[에게](to me) 주어라(give)
I’m going to my home = 나(I)는 나의(my) 집(home)[으로](to) 가는 중이다(am going).

~(noun)로부터, ~(noun)에서 is equal to “From (place)”
ex) They are coming from school = 그들(They)은 학교(school)[로부터] 오고 있는중이다(are coming).

~ means end of sentence
ex) I am a boy = 나(I)는 소년(boy) 이[다](am).
I love you = 나(I)는 너(you)를 사랑한[다](love)

~입(습)니까?  , ~?, ~? mean a question
ex) What is it? = 그것은 무엇[입니까?]
Did you have a meal? = 너는 밥은 예매[니?]
~  means command
ex) Do your homework = 네 점심 해[라]

~ means suggestion
ex) Let’s swim = 에서 하[자]

Please remember!
We usually attach postposition to the end of a word!

whereareyounow

[Note original article includes romanizations, which I removed here because I want to focus on reading Hangul. You must look at if word ends in consonant or vowel to decide which of two postpositions to use.]

 

Dear Postposition,

You are such a helpful little guy. Do you feel under-appreciated?

You can change
제 남편 사랑해요 to
제 남편 사랑해요 or
제 남편 사랑해요.
I love my husband;
My husband loves me;
I love my husband too. (as well as someone else? Yikes!)

See how important you are to the meaning of the sentence!

Postposition, I love you too, Julia

 

This entry was posted in Korean, Learning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

