Organic Farming: 50 Word Story

50 Word Story: Organic Farming

Rice farmer tends thick green field. Skin so dark. Under nail torn from pulling out weeds. Sore back and thigh muscles ache.

Neighbor shuts the water gate to keep for himself.

Old man says, ‘You must meet a good neighbor, if you want to work easy in the farm field.’

rice field

농부는 많은 논을 돌본다.

피부는 감게 탔고 손톱 밑은 잡초를 뽑느라고 찢어졌다.

허리와 허벅지는 아프다.

이웃르은 자기 논에 물을 대려고 수로를 막는다.

이웃들은.

노인들은 말한다. “농사를 잘 지으려면 좋은 이웃을 만나야 하느리라.”

 

32 words in Korean.  My Korean mentor/teacher translated my story.  I will use it to study in LingQ.

I have noticed that punctuation isn’t exactly the same in Korean as in English.  For example, the comma after “Old man says” is a period in Korean. I also noticed in KDA class, two sentences joined by ‘and’ would have a comma in English but have a period in Korean.  I also don’t understand what the apostrophe is being used for such as ‘노인은.

Some vocabulary I looked up in dictionary:

farmer = 농부
green = 녹색
paddy field = 논
skin=피부
dark = 감은, 검게 탄   (감다)
very = 아주
sun tan = 썬텐
finger nail = 손톱
weeds = 잡초
sore back = 아픈 허리
thigh = 허벅지
muscle = 근육
to ache = 아프다
next door neighbor = 옆집 사람
water = 물

Another Interpal Sunmi-Hwang offered me these translations:

Under nail torn from pulling out weeds –
잡초를 뽑아서 손톱밑이 찢어졌다.
-Sore back and thigh muscles ache –
허리가 아프고 허벅지와 근육에 통증이 있다.
-Neighbor shuts the water gate to keep for himself –
이웃은 자신을 위해 수문을 닫아버렸다.
– Old man says, ‘You must meet a good neighbor, if you want to work easy in the farm field.
‘노인은 “만약 당신이 농장에서 쉽게 일하려면, 좋은 이웃을 만나야 한다”고 말한다.

I find the rearranging to put the old man said at the end to be interesting and logical when I think about it.  Perhaps Sunmi’s captured the pain I was trying to convey with “sore back and thigh muscles ache”  better, but I don’t know Korean well enough to say.

“Thick green” where I was trying to give the feeling of lush new growth surrounding the farmer seems to be missing from the Korean translation.  All I know is I spend hours every time I attempt a translation, it is far beyond my capability at this point, but I learn, I notice, I start to see patterns.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Korean, Learning and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

