KDA Class 8 – I need encouragement

God bless my fellow classmate James who sent me this link when I went into mental overload today:

Class 8 of Korean Digital Academy and I feel like I am falling to pieces.  There is a  gap between what my head can make sense of from reading Hangul and what my mouth can put together to form sentences.

HELP!  Help me if you can, I’m feeling down.  Help me get my feet back on the ground. Won’t you please, please, help me?

I must need a LOT more practice.

  • automatically figure out ending consonant/vowel and conjugate appropriately
  • count money
  • switch between questions and answers
  • know the questions & answers down pat
  • recall the vocabulary quickly

I do not know why it is so hard for me.  There are really only a few questions we have covered, about one per week.

Next week will be time and age.  Putting all this number study into action.  My teacher seemed a bit worried for me.  I SHOULD be able to do it.  I have been studying numbers for weeks now.  Middle of the night waking up to count in Korean.  Repeatedly counting to 100 in both Sino and native Korean.  Making flashcards.  Testing myself on multiple applications on the numbers.  Practicing saying the numbers out loud.  Listening to audio programs about numbers.

But I know, putting it all into practice to speak in sentences where I have to combine native and Sino-Korean at the same time in the same sentence with faster than 7 second delay as I try to think how to compose the sentence.   Not to mention that I just can’t get Korean intonation and rhythm.  I am far from sounding natural even though it has been 2 months.

I am just having a really hard time.   Remember all those posts where I said I was saving up the encouragement because I knew some day I would hit a wall in my language learning?  Today is the day.  Today I hit the wall.

So if you have any kind words of encouragement, please send it my way.

On the plus side, Hanja was mentioned in class and the one Hanja character she showed I actually knew. 山  Phew.  Learned that just in time.  Now I just have to practice how to type Hanja.

I should know these: 변호사, 간호사, 원숭이, 왕따, 캐나다 사람, 하나 – 열, 열 – 아흔, 일 – 백, 백 – 억, 있다, 없다, 약국, 재미, 맛, 고양이, 강아지, 곤원, 시간, 백수, 코미디언, 지금 몇 시예요? 아전, 오후, 아침, 저녁, 밤, 시, 분, 진, ~ 시 ~ 분 ~ 전 이에요, 반=사십분, 선생님, 학생, 옌필, 지우개, 교과서, 책상, 분필, 슬리퍼, 필통 깎이, 연필, 가방, 공잭, 만화책, 음식, 식당, 식사, 고장님, 이름이 뭐 예요? 이거 뭐 여요? 얼마예요? 몇시 여요? 몇 살 이에요? 이/가, 는/은, 아니에요, 아닙니다, more … 

I should probably make a list of all the words I am suppose to know for KDA in one place.  Make flashcards and LingQ lesson.  Plus perhaps ask for some help to practice with someone.  Something.  I am struggling right now.  Any sage words of advice welcome.

And life is always better with a little Bob Marley – Don’t Worry Be Happy

hugs

 

 

This entry was posted in Korean, Learning and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

