Glossika

A month ago, Alexander Giddings told me he uses Glossika.  Glossika trains listening and speaking.  Yesterday, I downloaded the Korean Glossika.  Today, I start to learn with Glossika.

sky1sky2

 

What I hope to achieve with Glossika:

  • Exposure to a large number of sentences in “natural” Korean
  • Improve my pronunciation with daily practice
  • Studying the sentences to understand their patterns
  • Practice using the sentence patterns to create other sentences
  • Finding other ways to say the same thing in Korean
  • Speaking full sentences in one breath
  • Being able to quickly recall sentences to use in real conversation with Koreans
  • Being engaged in thinking about how sentences are created and try myself
  • Improved handwriting skills in Hangul
  • Faster typing in Hangul

The brain processes and decides what to discard when we sleep. After one sleep cycle, it has already started pushing aside trivial matters that clutter your brain like what you ate for lunch. By three sleep cycles, if you haven’t needed some new piece of information that you learned, you will most likely forget it.

That is where my learning of Korean goes wrong. I see a new word, try to memorize it, then make no effort to have that new word reappear the next day, and by 3 days later. I have forgotten it. I need spaced repetition. See the new word again, at specific intervals, so the brain realizes it actually is important and reinforces the memory.

I am going to use two methods for repetition and reinforcing memories:

  1. Memrise flashcards
  2. Glossika Spaced Repetition (GSR)

Glossika Spaced Repetition

 

This is a big commitment.  If I listen to GSR files every day, it will take me about 8 months to work through their 3000 sentences.  I have trouble committing to what I will eat for lunch.  Here is what I am committing to:

  • setting aside time every single day to listen to the sentences
  • practice saying sentences / record myself
  • write the sentences
  • type the sentences
  • determine the sentence patterns
  • try to use those sentence patterns to make my own sentences

This should work out to 20 minutes of listening/speaking with the audio and 30 minutes of self-study interacting with the sentences.  2 hours a week of listening to the GSR.

Add 20 minutes a day “watering” my Memrise vocabulary.

Also, 1 hour watching Korean Digital Academy video, 1 hour KDA class online, and 3 hours of KDA self-study.  (I am creating Memrise decks that match the KDA coursework, so 2 hours doing Memrise practice is the KDA self-study.)

Hmm, I am already confused and overwhelmed.  Keep it Simple.  I must listen to my GSRMemrise and do my Memrise “watering” every day BEFORE I do anything else.  20 minutes of sentences listening/speaking.  20 minutes of flashcards.  Every day.  Period.  No room for whining, weaseling, cajoling, delaying, procrastinating, ‘forgetting’, being too busy, getting distracted.  I start my day with my GSR and Memrise.  I refuse to go to bed until I have done them.

Well …. we’ll see how this goes.

Already the School Marm and child are giving each other dirty looks.  Child thinks she’ll win.  School Marm is pretty determined.  It will be a battle of wills to get me to follow this program I’ve set out for myself.  Wish me luck.

 

P.S. LingQ – Glossika Mass Sentences thread

 

This entry was posted in Korean, Learning and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Glossika

  1. Pingback: Young on adventure in Korea | Hanguk Babble

Leave a Reply

