Glossika Korean – Day 1

The Glossika Spaced Repetition, Day 1, starts off easy at only 3:33 long with ten sentences.  This post will talk about what kind of activities I am doing while studying and examine some vocabulary, particle grammar, and sentence patterns.

This is what I did:

  1. Listen to audio
  2. Type up the sentences
  3. Practice saying each sentence
  4. Create a private LingQ lesson
  5. Work through Day 1 lesson seeing what vocabulary I do not know and creating lingq’s.
  6. Write the sentences out by hand
  7. Analyse for sentence patterns
  8. Create a Memrise deck & mems
  9. Record myself speaking the sentences
  10. Create my own flashcards with variations of the sentences
  11. Re-read section of textbook with these kind of sentences
  12. Write a blog entry
  13. Bring up the sentence in an email or chat with Korean friend
  14. Check out web resources like Talk To Me In Korean to understand the grammar
  15. Create an Excel spreadsheet to keep track of all words/sentences I learning

This is kind of my process for digesting new material, but I rarely do all of it in one day. Over time, the same topic (like numbers) gets looked at various ways.   I can’t imagine doing all of this every day!  Maybe I will get into a rhythm.

My commitment is I will LISTEN to the day’s GSR and water my Memrise vocabulary decks.  The rest I will get to along the way.

I suddenly fear I will fall behind in my Korean Digital Academy class!  Honestly, I have been out of sorts about KDA since class was cancelled last Wednesday.

Reading my list, it is obvious that I am scattered using a lot of products.  I simply haven’t settled on a flashcard/database system that does everything I want.  Excel plus a flashcard system will probably be my “control freak” way of coping with the fact that I want a dictionary and the ability to know what I have learned plus look up parts of speech and definitions.  I want to control my level of “knowing”, similar to LingQ 0 – 5 rating system, but in a way that I can easily manipulate.

I’m still in that process of finding a database, but meanwhile the number of words I know (and promptly forget) is growing.  The data entry necessary to teach my database what I know is daunting.  I don’t even want to think about it.  For now, it is rows in a Microsoft Word document.  I am changing to rows in an Excel spreadsheet as a step up.

 

Sample Sentences

  • New words
  • 간호사
  • 무겁다
  • 부자가
  • 아니야
  • 운전사
  • 자식, 자식들은
  • 집에있다
nurse
heavy
get rich
not (verb, banmal)
driver
child, children
is at home
오늘 날씨 좋다. The weather’s nice today.
난 부자가 아니야. I’m not rich.
가방이 무겁다. This bag is heavy.
저기 내 진구야. Look, there’s my friend.
내 형과 나는 테니스를 잘 쳐. My brother and I are good tennis players.
내 오빠와 나는 My brother and I (female speaker)
그의 엄마는 집에있다. 그는 학교에 있다. His mother’s at home.  He’s at school.
그녀의 자식들은 학교에 있다. Her children are at school.
나는 택시 운전사다. I am a taxi driver.
내 여동생은 간호사야. My sister’s a nurse.

Particle Patterns

Nc = Noun ending in a consonant
Nv = Noun ending in a vowel

1.  -이/가 Subject particle
Pattern: Nc + 이 / Nv + 가
2. -은/-는 Topic or contrast particle
Pattern: Nc + 은 / Nv + 는
3. -과/-와 [-gwa/wa]’and’, ‘with’ (preferred in writing) particle
Pattern: Nc + 과 / Nv + 와
3. -하고 [-hago] ‘and’, ‘with’ (preferred in speech) particle
Pattern: Nc + 하고

For more information about particles, refer to Chapter 5, “Mastering Conversational Korean: Korean for Beginners”.

 

Sentence Patterns

 

(* See Ryan’s notes below … these aren’t quite right)

1.  noun -이/가 subject particle 무겁다.
Noun is heavy.
컴퓨터 무겁다. Computer is heavy.  *
그림 무겁다. Picture is heavy.  *

2.  person-은/-는 집에있다.
Person is at home.
문철 집에있다. Chulmoon is at home. *
쥴리아 집에있다. Julia is at home. *

3.   noun-과/-와 [-gwa/wa] particle noun
my noun and noun
오빠 나는 my oppa and I *
튀김 커피 my twigim and coffee *

4.   택시 운전사다.
Pronoun is a taxi driver.
택시 운전사다.  He is a taxi driver. *
그녀 택시 운전사다.  She is a taxi driver. *

 

Parts of Speech

noun verb adjective adverb pronoun preposition conjunction determiner interjection number counting unit particle

 

Here is the good … getting feedback from native Korean Ryan on my sentences.

day1

This entry was posted in Korean, Learning. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Glossika Korean – Day 1

  1. modischert says:

    I cannot find Glossika Korean anywhere! It isn’t even listed on the mobile site.. how did you get it? I want it so bad but am stumped as to where to get it if I can’t even get it directly from them!

    Like

Leave a Reply

