Abundance of words

I have an abundance of Korean words in my life.  My cup runneth over.  I have started ignoring some of the words coming my way, because it feels like learning new words from Korean Digital Academy, 1000 Korean Words list on Memrise, and Glossika’s Mass Sentences is more than enough.

There are questions that I still don’t have good answers for.

How many words do I know?

How will I store, learn, and review words?

How well do I know these words?

I think a scale from 0 for known up to 5 for known as used in LingQ is good.

LingQcolors

I still puzzle over how well I know words.  For example, I have heard the word “thank you” for 2 years.  I am comfortable saying it, but I hesitate and run to the dictionary every time I want to write the word.

“Core” words for Korean Digital Academy are high priority words that I know I will need to use.

I’m scattered about where I look for the words to review them.  In my personal word and Excel documents, LingQ, Memrise, Glossika, my homemade flash cards, in physical flashcards, handwritten notebook, on audio?

I can see I am headed towards a consolidated list.  It will be a lot of work to put together, but the work makes me focus on the words.  I’m kicking myself I didn’t come up with a system from the start.  Oh well, I always hope my mistakes will help others.

If you have a system for keeping track of your words you are learning and reviewing, let me know.

This entry was posted in Korean, Learning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

