Poem: I will return to the sky

Korean poem “Gwicheon” by  Cheon Sang-byeong

귀천(歸天)

천상병

나 하늘로 돌아가리라.
새벽빛 와 닿으면 스러지는
이슬 더불어 손에 손을 잡고,

나 하늘로 돌아가리라.
노을빛 함께 단둘이서
기슭에서 놀다가 구름 손짓하면은,

나 하늘로 돌아가리라.
아름다운 이 세상 소풍 끝내는 날,
가서, 아름다웠더라고 말하리라……
Discussion of the poem (in Korean)

sunset

This is not a translation, but my attempt to describe some of the images in the poem.  I humbly ask forgiveness if it misses the mark from the author’s original intent.

I will return to the sky.
Dawn’s light touches the dew.
We are hand in hand together.

I will return to the sky.
Together just the two of us
Sunset’s rays playing at the foot of the clouds,

I will return to the sky.
End of day’s picnic to this beautiful world,
Go, more beautiful than I can say …

The poem’s personality is described as visual, descriptive, contemplative, and optimistic.

Life is a beautiful picnic, and when this fleeting life is done, I will return to the sky.

I sent Chulmoon the poem “Do not stand at my grave and weep”, and this poem seems to have a similar hopeful tone.

나 하늘로 돌아가리라. – I will return to the sky.
하늘 – sky / heaven
돌아가다 – to return to
이슬 – dew
새벽빛 – dawn’s light, daybreak’s glow
닿다 – touch, gently brush
더불어 손에 손을 잡고, – hand in hand
함께 – together, with
단둘이서 – just the two of us
노을빛 – sunset’s rays
놀다 – play, frolic
구름 – cloud
기슭에서 놀다가 구름 – playing at the foot of clouds
손짓하다 – gesture, beckon with the hand
아름다운 – beautiful
이 세상 – the world
소풍 – picnic
끝내다 – end, complete
날 – day
아름답다 – beautiful
더 – more
라고 – in the way of, as for
말하다 – to say, speak
One of the ways I learn Korean, by looking at the words in poems.

Korean sunsets from the Korean Tourism Organization.

This entry was posted in Korean, Nature, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Poem: I will return to the sky

  1. Chul Moon says:

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

