Daily Archives: September 2, 2014

September is National Library Sign-up Month

September is national library card sign-up month.  See what your library has to offer. If you live, work, or go to school in Massachusetts sign up for a Boston Public Library card. Sign-up can be done in person at BPL locations across … Continue reading

Posted in Learning, Tech | Tagged | Leave a comment

Stupid Ugly Foreigner

I searched for “polyglot Korean”, intending to find a native Korean who speaks many languages.  What I found was yet-another-Canadian-English-Teacher in this post. Michael Em calls his blog Stupid Ugly Foreigner.  His adventures in learning Korean are funny and familiar.  I’m … Continue reading

Posted in Korean, Learning | Leave a comment

Timothy Doner’s bookshelf

Timothy Doner is that amazing polyglot who made a video at age 16 with him speaking 20 languages.  Here are some books from his bookshelf that I want to check out at the library. Through the Language Glass by Guy … Continue reading

Posted in Learning | Tagged , | Leave a comment

5 Styles of English

Talking with my language exchange partner, I realized there are different ways to express English depending on the situation.  I didn’t have words to describe these different styles of English, but I sensed they were similar to Korea’s levels of … Continue reading

Posted in Learning | Tagged | Leave a comment

How do you say R?

Tom Scott explains how people make R sounds.  It has given me some insight into why I can’t roll my r’s.   It also made me understand how R and L sounds are similar to Koreans.  The way I say … Continue reading

Posted in Korean, Learning | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

Elizabeth Liang Show at Williams College Sept. 18

Actress Elizabeth Liang is a Third Culture Kid. Third Culture Kids are the children of international business people, global educators, diplomats, missionaries, and the military — anyone whose family has relocated overseas because of a job placement. Liang weaves humorous … Continue reading

Posted in Not Learning | Tagged , , | Leave a comment