Memory Palace

There is a memory technique where you put the words into a geographic space you know well.  The Method of loci, also called the memory palace or mind palace technique, is a mnemonic device adopted in ancient Roman.  I have never tried it before, but I thought I would test it out using the alphabet, since that is an ordered series.

The order of the consonants and vowels, if we ignore double consonants and dipthongs, is as follows

Consonants: ㄱ  ㄴ ㄷ ㄹ ㅁ ㅂ ㅅ ㅇ ㅈ ㅊ ㅋ ㅌ ㅍ ㅎ
Vowels: ㅏ ㅑ ㅓ ㅕ ㅗ  ㅛ ㅜ ㅠ ㅡ ㅣ

I will create a story using locations and the words for each letter to remember the order.

korean alphabet

 

Try it yourself with a place you are familiar with.

Here is my story.

I get up out of bed and grab my 가방.  There is a 나비 at my window.  I go to the spare bedroom to iron my clothes with a 다리미.  I turn on the 라디오 while I shower.  In the kitchen, I grab some 마늘 bread for breakfast.  On the porch, I put on my 바지.  I pick an 사과 from the tree.  I dash down the driveway to catch the ice cream truck and buy an 아이스 크림.  I look at my 자정거 contemplating if I want to take a ride into town, but I decide instead to take the 차.  Today I plan  a photo safari to the zoo.  I use my 카메라  to take pictures of the 타조.  From a vendor, I buy some fresh 파인애플.  Next up is the 하마.  Walking thru the park, I see an 아버지 teaching his son 야구 with 어머니 cheering them on.  A 여우 darts into a 오이 garden.  At the grocery store, I buy 요구르트 and 우유.  I pour the cold milk into a 유리.  I shiver.  It is 으슬으슬.  Into my 입, I gulp the milk.

koreanalphabetchildren4

This entry was posted in Korean, Learning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Memory Palace

  1. Pingback: Maps, not learning | Hanguk Babble

Leave a Reply

