Verbs are coming

Korean Digital Academy’s teacher Rob Julian verbs cominghas teased us in Level 1 classes with the promise that in Level 2 the verbs are coming.

In this post, I am going to review what I have learned about verbs in Level 1 KDA class.  I am bracing for an onslaught when I get past the bottleneck of being unable to conjugate verbs.  Without verbs, I am stuck just pointing at things and saying nouns.

toothfairyI am a little scared that verbs are coming.  I’ve been studying Korean for 6 months now. Admittedly, I started slow and a good deal of my time has just been spent trying to figure out how one learns a language.  I have come to accept that there isn’t a language fairy who will come in the night to magically grant me Korean (unless you count this fairy game for articulation).

A better indicator of my ability is to say I have attended 12 hours of classes.  12 hours of speaking practice.  Each class focused on one question and answer.  “How much is it?”  “It is 5 won.”  “What is that?” “It is a pen.”  Learning Hangul, getting us to open our mouths, work on pronunciation, and some basic vocabulary.

It is hard to explain how hard I have to think in class.  I seriously get headaches from thinking so hard how to put these simple sentences together.  Now, here come verbs.  I want to run and hide.  An invading British army would strike less fear in my heart.  LOL

“Buck up!”

BUCK UP verb 1) To encourage, summon courage. 2) To cheer (oneself) up. 3) To improve.  Dandies who dressed smartly in Regency England. (‘bucks’ male deer)

vtobe

You decide whether to use 이에요 / 예요.  If you have a final consonant, use 이에요.  With final vowel, use 예요.

물이에요. It’s water.
가방이에요. That is a bag.
하교예요? Are you at school?
뭐예요? What’s that?

Note:  I get confused that ㅇis a consonant and ㅛ ㅠㅕㅑare vowels.

vtonotbe

vtoexist

있다 to be (there), to have, to exist.  없다 to not be (there), to not have, to not exist.  Person/thing in a specific place or in your possession.  (I am here.  He has a dog.)

지금 어디에 있어요?  Where are you now?
서랍 속에는 없었어요.  It wasn’t in the drawer.

vhada

Basically, all the hada verbs are going to conjugate the same. See my Hada Verbs post.

할 수 있어요  I can do.   하고 싶어요  I want to do.

I can see how I get these confused:  이에요, 이었어요, 예요, 옜어요, 있어요, 있었어요.  Especially 있어요 (present tense exist) and 이었어요 (past tense to be).

vdelicious

vfun

 

to eat 먹다  / 먹어요 / 먹었어요

to come 오다 / 와요 / 왔어요

to go 가다 / 가요 / 갔어요

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Korean and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

