Adjust

Language isn’t something you learn, it is something you adjust to.adjust

I’ve been chewing on that thought.  I watch KDA videos a few weeks before the class where we review the material.  It gives me time to process what I have learned.  Time for the new words to “settle in”.

I hate moving.  Unpacking all the boxes.  Finding new places for things.  Then having moments in the new place where you go “I know exactly where I would have found that in my old house, where could I have put it in the new house?”  It takes time for me to settle in to the new home.  It takes time for me to adjust.

Those who adjust to change better have an advantage in language learning.  I take a bit longer to adapt.  I just have to keep exposing myself to the language and give it time to work it’s way into me.

I am not sure when I made the transition from someone on the outside curiously poking at Korean language suspiciously to someone who who decided to make Korean a part of me for the rest of my life.  The change was gradual.  Yet the end result was a pretty dramatic perspective shift.  I am a different person because I became a language learner.

This entry was posted in Korean, Learning. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Adjust

  1. You’ll get there soon, just keep at it 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

