Perfectionism & Procrastination

“The great irony of perfectionism is that while it’s characterized by an intense drive to succeed, it can be the very thing that prevents success. Perfectionism is highly correlated with fear of failure and self-defeating behavior, such as excessive procrastination.” – 14 Signs Your Perfectionism is Out of Control, Huffington Post

I give myself assignments.  Then I procrastinate doing those assignments because I made them too hard.  I feel burdened by my “to do” list.  I have this idea that if I haven’t created the perfect set of flashcards with audio and pictures covering every word that I practice every day, I am not doing it “right”.

Silly me!  I need to both let go of my perfectionist expectations and stop procrastinating. Two sides of the same coin.

Quote | This entry was posted in Korean, Learning. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

