Keeping up with others

I don’t measure myself against others.  I sincerely rejoice in the good fortune of others.

If I were to credit one person with my attitude, it would be Sharon Salzberg, whom I met many years ago at an Insight Meditation Society retreat. She introduced me to Metta (lovingkindness Korean: 자 Chinese: 慈 Pali: मेत्ता).  In her talk, Sharon says “Everyone wants to be happy.  Everyone gets to play.”

I’ve received a few comments that people feel intimidated by how much I study.  They feel jealous that I am progressing faster than they are.

You are most likely wrong if you think I am doing better than you, because I really struggle to pin myself down for studying. Sure, I play around with learning things, and I am making Korean friends.  Yet often I only managed to get in 15 minutes of focused study. My goal is two 15 minute sessions a day.  (I’m a kid at heart, half an hour of play is easy to do 🙂

Trust me, you won’t feel better if I am less successful in my studies.  Haha

It is better that we all support each other in our studies.  Don’t worry about how others are progressing.  I want you to be happy.  I want you to playfully learn.

In the spirit of lovingkindness, I send you these wishes:

May your mind be at ease
May you be well
May you learn
May you be happy
May you be compassionate to yourself and others

 

This entry was posted in Korean, Learning and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

