Bite off more than you can chew

don't bite

I want to make this to hold my paper flashcards and remind myself not to bite off more than I can chew.

There is an English folk advice “Don’t bite off more than you can chew!”  It means to start a project that is more than you can finish.

I so do that.  How about you?

Today, I will forgive myself for the projects I gave myself that were too big to finish in a day.   All those crazy ideas I got into my head that I wanted to do and then didn’t finish because it turned out it would take a lot of time, and the whole thing got pushed aside to lurk in the corner as something I will get to eventually.

“How do you eat an elephant?  One bite at a time” is an old joke.  The wisdom of it is to break things down into manageable bites.

Rather than decide I am going to sit down and write out all 1000 of the Glossika sentences in one sitting, much better to make a habit of writing 10 sentences a day.

I also forgive myself that I can’t get to EVERY project that my brain cooks up.

Don’t worry, brain.  I have kept this blog that has all the ideas I want to get to stored for you.  Just focus on the few tasks you are working on now, and let go of the rest.

(And if you want to take a bit of play time to make a monster flashcard holder, go for it.  It’s not learning, it’s just having fun!)

 

This entry was posted in Learning, Not Learning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

