Small Talk: working on my introduction

Gratitude to my Korean friend who helped me work on my introduction.  He even did an audio recording so I could listen to a native Korean.  So kind!

What I am saying:

Although I am an American, I am learning Korean now, because I think Korean is an interesting language. I discovered the secret to learning a language is people.

비록 저는 미국인이지만, 지금 하국어를 배우고 있습니다 왜냐하면 저는 한국어가 흥미있는 언어라고 생각하기 때문입니다.
저는 언어를 배우는데 비밀은 사람이라는 걸 알았습니다

김도환 gave me a slightly simpler version that makes the first sentence not such a mouthful.  (Bless you Dohwan!)

나는 미국 사람이지만 지금 한국어를 배우고 있습니다.

왜냐하면 한국어는 재미있는 언어라고 생각하기 때문입니다.

I learn something new with each chat or phone call with a Korean.  The problem is how to capture that information so that I do not forget it?

For example, in the same conversation, he taught me a Korean proverb

배보다 배꼽이 더 크네요.  The navel is larger than the belly.  It means the effort is larger than the result.

웃으면 복이 와요.  If you laugh, the luck comes to you.

laughter

도움이 되서 기쁨니다.  I am happy to be helpful.  🙂

This entry was posted in Korean, Learning and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

