Air Mail and Korean coins

I received an air mail package from a Mindpasta member.  It was a thrilling treat.  Inside was stickers, Korean coins, and a letter written half in English, half in Korean.

The letter took some work for me to fully translate.  Just greetings, the weather, and encouraging each other to study.  It is only the second “snail mail” item I have received written in Korean.  I have to say, I find mail pretty exciting!20141011_113642[1]

My favorite line “You inspire me to 열심히 공부해요!” That is kind of her to say, as she is obviously much more advanced in her Korean learning than I am.

US and South Korean coins

Compare size of South Korean and US Coins. 500, 100, 50, 10 makes identifying the amount easy.  한국은행 Korea Bank

For USA coinage, it goes like this.  One dollar is 100 cents.  A quarter is 25 cents.  A dime is 10 cents.  A nickle is 5 cents.  A penny is 1 cent.  Therefore, a dollar equals 4 quarters, 10 dimes, 20 nickles, or 100 pennies.  In terms of size, the smallest US coin is a a thin dime. Next is the penny, then nickle, then quarter.  These four coins are not the only coins we use in the US, but they are the most common.  I’m fond of the large cent and wheat pennies.  For many years, I carried a large cent with me for luck.  Read more about coins of the United States of America.

Smallest value to largest, smallest coin to largest, for Korea.  Not US!

Smallest value to largest, smallest coin to largest, for Korea. Not US!

Flip side of South Korean coins

Flip side of South Korean coins  500 won 오백 원, 100 won 백 원,  50 won 오십 원, 10 won 십원

South Korea coins - closeup
..South Korean coins

This entry was posted in Friends, Korean and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Air Mail and Korean coins

  1. 연주 says:

    I am glad the package arrived safely and that you like it 🙂
    Your coin comparison is cool, too 🙂 I have never compared the Korean won with ours before. Is the smallest US one a dime?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

