Parts of Speech: English vs. Korean

In English, we classify parts of speech as articles, nouns, pronouns, adjectives, verbs, adverbs, conjunctions, prepositions, and interjections. A word can be more than one part of speech.

In Korean, they do not have adjectives and prepositions.

Instead, adjectives are stative verbs which conjugate.  Postposition particles fill the role of prepositions in English.

As I try to understand Korean Grammar, I realize it isn’t a simple one-to-one mapping of words from English to Korean.  I’m still trying to use my system of color-coding/ shapes/ puzzle pieces / Grammaropolis characters to look at how an English sentence is put together and how it’s Korean counterpart is formed.grammarshapes

Questions remain, as I haven’t got the full picture yet.  For example, wiki describes 관형사 as determiners, prenouns, or indeclinable adjectives. I don’t know what prenouns or indeclinable adjectives are yet.

 

Grammaropoliscast

What do I do with the time I am suppose to be learning?  Some times I am trying to figure articles like “한국어 단어 공간 모델을 이용한 단어 의미 중의성 해소
Word Sense Disambiguation using Korean Word Space Model” in Korea Science Journals.

koreascience

I’m trying to work out how I can get my hands on Computational Linguistics articles, hoping that if I can learn how a COMPUTER learns the Korean language, perhaps I can figure it out too.

resolution_rulesI might check out an article that says it has an approach for tagging parts of speech in Korean.

Taking natural language and trying to break it down into parts of speech and patterns that can be analyzed is the computer programmer in me.  I read that 30% of Korean words are ambiguous, and I despair.  I am already overwhelmed with trying to understand the verb conjugation rules.

Vacationing in Grammaropolis

I threw Korean Digital Academy class aside today.  I ran to Grammaropolis.  Help!  I know those cute little singing parts of speech will make things better for me.  So I am hanging out with Nelson the Noun and Vinny the Action verb, revisiting my color-coding and shapes, and trying to come to enough of an understanding that I can make puzzle pieces to explain these grammar rules for verb conjugation that have me totally ready to give up today.

I might even pull out the felt, construction paper, crayons, and color forms.  It feels like that kind of a day.  I need soothing.

 

 

This entry was posted in Korean and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Parts of Speech: English vs. Korean

  1. I like that coding system of yours! I think I can tell you what 관형사 is. 관형사 (also 관형어) is the category for “adjectives” that modify or add further characteristics to nouns (According to Korean Grammar for Intl. Learners). In the end it’s just a technical name for something you probably already know ^^.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

