Busy Atom – Conjugating Verb “to like”

I am trying to figure out verbs, but it is slow going.

Key points seemed to be the following.

1.  There are two styles of verb conjugation:  Hamnida and Heyo.   Hamnida used in TV news, military, and formal business presentations.  Heyo used in everyday conversation.

2.  There are two forms of the verb stems – changed and unchanged.  You just have to memorize these for each verb.

3.  There are tables to look up the different conjugation patterns.

4.  The verb conjugation is not dependent on the person doing the speaking.  (I/he/she/they … all get the same verb conjugation).

5.  There are 2 ways to negate things.

6.  Asking a question in the hamnida level means changing it to 까.  Asking a question in the heyo level is just intonation but no spelling change.

7.  You will never find the -yo 요 form of the verb in the dictionary.  Stop looking for it.  So my dictionary skills need me to understand infinitive form of verb and how to make my own verb tenses.

(Please forgive me BusyAtom for taking screen prints of your video while I muddle through verb conjugation.  No copy right infringement is intended.  Go watch his video.)

conjugate_like1 conjugatelikehayostyle

Areas of confusion for me:

  1. I do not know the changed and unchanged form of the verbs.  I kind of think I get that the unchanged form is the infinitive of the verb with 다 lopped off.  The changed form is a mystery.
  2. I can’t figure out the different verb conjugation levels.  I am particularly confused about the different terms for the same level.  I’ve tried to sort it out before, I will need to sort again.
  3. I don’t know which verb conjugations use changed vs unchanged form of the verbs.
  4. I don’t have the things you add on memorized.
  5. There seemed to be an addition step of deciding consonant/vowel when deciding ending, just to add to my confusion.  I don’t know when this comes into play.
  6. There seems to be some sort of flowchart process going on, if I can figure it out.  I need a diagram.

conjugatelikeconstruct

speakflowchart

(Totally suffering Hangul headache at the moment.  I have stayed up 3 nights in a row trying to figure this out with sheer determination.  So if my verb posts sound like they were made by a delirious person, I ask your indulgence.  Don’t take any of this as gospel truth.  I’m a very lost puppy right now.  Oh, why did I eat half a pint of Ben & Jerry’s ice cream instead of a proper dinner while pouring over verb conjugation at 3 AM?  Total Hangulover at 1 PM on Monday.  This will be funny some day.  Today, it just hurts my brain.)

This entry was posted in Korean, Learning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

