Leaves game, not learning

In honor of the fall, I made a game out of learning verbs by making leaves with verbs written on them. These table decorations were on clearance. I liked how they looked, and figured $2 to make some interesting flashcards to play with was worth it.

Leaves for vocabulary

I noted which class each verb came from on the leaves.  That way I could pick out just the “오” verbs to work on, for example.

ACTIVITY 1 – sort the leaves into 오 / 아 verbs and all the rest.  Practice making changed and unchanged forms of the verb.

ACTIVITY 2 – review the verbs to be sure you remember the English for each leaf.

ACTIVITY 3 – sort the verbs into 동사 and 형용사.

ACTIVITY 4 – for each leaf, conjugate into the various tenses/politeness levels.  Present, past, and future tense.  Honorific, common, and casual in both statement and question.

I will list the Korean Digital Academy verbs below, or use whatever verb list you are currently working on.

chart of verb conjugation

As a reward for doing your vocabulary and verb conjugation, here is a raking  leaves coloring game.

autumn season game

KDA Class 2 – 6

Verb English Present Past Future
이다 to be  이에요  였어요  일 거예요
 있다 to exist  있어요  있었어요 있을 거예요

KDA Class 7

Verb English Present Past Future
아니다 to not be 아니에요  아니었어요  아닐 거예요
declarativepresentinformalhigh declarativepastinformalhigh declarativefutureinformalhigh

Dongsa helpfully breaks down how a verb was formed step by step.

dognsa verb conjugator

KDA Class 8-10

Verb English Present Past Future
없다 to not exist, to not have 없어요  없었어요  없을 거예요

KDA Class 11

Verb English Present Past Future
하다  to do  해요 했어요  할 거예요
가다  to go  가요 갔어요  갈 거예요

KDA Class 12

Verb English Present Past Future
좋아하다  to like 좋아해요 좋아했어요 좋아할 거예요
 공부하다  to study  공부해요 공부했어요  공부할 거예요
 수영하다  to swim 수영해요  수영했어요  수영할 거예요
 노래하다  to sing  노래해요  노래했어요 노래할 거예요
 사랑하다  to love  사랑해요  사랑했어요 사랑할 거예요
 일하다  to work  일해요 일했어요  일할 거예요
 요리하다  to cook  요리해요  요리했어요  요리할 거예요
 말하다  to speak  말해요 말했어요  말할 거예요
 행복하다  to be happy  행복해요 행복했어요  행복할 거예요
 피곤하다  to be tired  피곤해요  피곤했어요  피곤할 거예요
 정직하다  to be honest  정직해요 정직했어요  정직할 거예요
 똑똑하다  to be smart  똑똑해요  똑똑했어요 똑똑할 거예요

KDA Class 13 – Level 2

Verb English Present Past Future
놀다  to play 놀아요 놀았어요 놀 거예요
싫다  to not like/hate 싫어요 싫었어요 싫을 거예요
싫어하다  to not like/hate 싫어해요 싫어했어요 싫어할 거예요
요리하다  to cook 요리해요 요리했어요 요리할 거예요
보다  to see 봐요 봤어요 볼 거예요
먹다  to eat 먹어요 먹었어요  먹을 거예요

 

KDA Class 14 “ㅗ” – vowel contraction [ㅗ ㅏ -> ㅘ]

Verb English Present Past Future
보다 to watch  봐요 봤어요  볼 거예요
놀다 * to play 놀아요 놀았어요  놀 거예요
오다 to come 와요 왔어요  올 거예요
가져오다 to bring 가져와요 가져왔어요 가져올 거예요
들어오다 to come in  들어와요 들어왔어요 들어올 거예요
노오다 to come out  노와요  노왔어요  노올 거예요
높다 to be high 높아요  높았어요  높을 거예요
좋다 to be good  좋아요 좋았어요  좋을 거예요

* 불규칙 동사 (irregular verb)

 

KDA Class 15 – “아” – vowel contraction [ㅏ ㅏ -> ㅏ]

Verb English Present Past Future
일어나다 to wake up 일어나요 일어났어요  일어날 거예요
알다 to know 알아요  알았어요  알 거예요
만나다 to meet 만나요  만났어요  만날 거예요
앉다 to sit 앉아요  앉았어요  앉을 거예요
가다 to go  가요  갔어요  갈 거예요
 나가다 to go out 나가요  나갔어요  나갈 거예요
 택시 타고 가다 to take a taxi 택시 타고 가요 택시 타고 갔어요 택시 타고 갈 거예요
 스키 타다 to ski  스키 타요  스키 탔어요  스키 탈 거예요
 받다 to receive 받아요  받았어요  받을 거예요
 살다 to live  살아요  살았어요  살 거예요
 사다 to buy  사요  샀어요  살 거예요
 팔다 to sell  팔아요  팔았어요  팔 거예요
 심심하다 to be bored  심심해요  심심했어요  심심할 거예요

 

KDA Class 16 “ㅜ” – vowel contraction [ㅜ ㅓ -> ㅝ]

Verb English Present Past Future
 배우다  to learn 배워요  배웠어요  배울 거예요
 울다  to cry  울어요  울었어요  울 거예요
 싸우다  to fight  싸워요  싸웠어요  싸울 거예요
 덥다  to be hot  더워요  더웠어요  더울 거예요
 죽다  to die  죽어요  죽었어요  죽을 거예요
 어리다  to be young 어려요  어렸어요  어릴 거예요
 주다  to give  줘요  줬어요  줄 거예요
 웃다  to laugh  웃어요  웃었어요  웃을 거예요
 맵다  to be spicy 맵다  매웠어요  매울 거예요
 춤추다  to dance 춤춰요  춤췄어요  춤출 거예요
 피우다  to smoke  피워요  피웠어요  피울 거예요
 춥다  to be cold  추워요  추웠어요  추울 거예요

 

KDA Class 17 “ㅡ” –  vowel contraction [ㅡ ㅓ -> ㅓ]

Verb English Present Past Future
 쓰다 to writeto be bitterto wear on head  써요  썼어요 쓸 거예요
 듣다 * to listen  들어요 들었어요  거예요
 먹다 to eat 먹어요 먹었어요  먹을 거예요
 배 부르다 to be full  배 불러요 배 불렀어요 배 부를 거예요
 크다 to be big  커요  컸어요  클 거예요

* 불규칙 동사 (irregular verb)

 

KDA Class 18  “ㅣ”   –   vowel contraction [ㅣ ㅓ -> ㅕ]

Verb English Present Past Future
 치다  to play  쳐요  쳤어요 칠 거예요
 마시다  to drink  마셔요  마셨어요  마실 거예요
그리다  to draw  그려요  그렸어요  그릴 거예요
가르치다  to teach  가르쳐요  가르쳤어요  가르칠 거예요
읽다 / 보다  to read  읽어요  읽었어요 읽을 거예요
기다리다  to wait  기다려요  기다렸어요  기다릴 거예요
하고 싶다  to want to do  하고 싶다  하고 싶었어요  하고 싶을 거예요
보이다  to be able to see  보여요  보였어요  보일 거예요
들리다  to be able to hear  들려요  들렸어요  들릴 거예요
졸리다  to be sleepy  졸려요  졸렸어요  졸릴 거예요
시끄러워  to be noisy  시끄러워요  시끄러웠어요  시끄러월 거예요
시원하다  to be cool  시원해요  시원했어요  시원할 거예요
더럽다 *  to be dirty  더러워요  더러웠어요  더러울 거예요
싫다  to be not liked  싫어요  싫었어요  싫을 거예요
있다  to exist  있어요 있었어요  있을 거예요

* ㅂ 불규칙 동사 (irregular verb)

Present tense example: 기다리다 –  S + ㅓ  + 요

  1. vowel contraction [ㅣ ㅓ -> ㅕ] (기다리 + 어 -> 기다려)
  2. join (기다려 + 요 -> 기다려요)

 

Past tense example: 기다리다 –  S + ㅓ + 었어 + 요

  1. vowel contraction [ㅣ ㅓ -> ㅕ] (기다리 + 어 -> 기다려)
  2. vowel contraction + 었-> 기다렸
  3.  join + 어 -> 기다렸어
  4.  join + 요 -> 기다렸어요

Future tense example:  기다리다 –  S +을+ 거예요

  1. borrow padchim (기다리 + 을 -> 기다릴)
  2. join (기다릴 + 거예요 -> 기다릴 거예요)

 

KDA Class 19 – to give please

Verb English Present Past Future
깎다 to cut 깎아요 깎았어요 깎을 거예요
만들다 to make 만들어요 만들었어요 만들 거예요
전화하다 to call 전화해요 전화했어요 전화할 거예요
돕다 to help 도와요 도왔어요 도울 거예요
얘기하다 to talk 얘기해요 얘기했어요 얘기할 거예요
보내다 to send 보내요 보냈어요 보낼 거예요
설명하다 to explain 설명해요 설명했어요 설명할 거예요
주다 to give 줘요 줬어요 줄 거예요

KDA Class 20

Verb English Present Past Future
 예약하다 to reserve 예약해요  예약했어요  예야할 거예요
 멀다 to be far 멀어요  멀었어요  멀 거예요
 등산하다 to go hiking  등산해요  등산했어요  등산할 거예요


KDA Class 21  vowel contraction [ㅚ ㅓ -> ㅙ] (되 + 어 -> 돼)

Verb English Present Past Future
되다 to become 돼요  됐어요  될 거예요
믿다 to believe/trust  믿어요  믿었어요 믿을 거예요
약속 지키다 to keep a promise  지켜요  지켰어요  지킬 거예요
편하다 to be comfortable  편해요  편했어요  편할 거예요
불편하다 to be uncomfortable 불편해요  불편했어요 불편할 거예요

KDA Class 22

Verb English Present Past Future
따르다 to pour 따라요  따랐어요  따를 거예요
벗다 to take off 벗어요 벗었어요 벗을 거예요
인사다 to greet 인사요 인샀어요 인살 거예요
이해하다 to understand 이해해요 이해했어요 이해할 거예요
허락을 받다 to get premission 허락을 받아요 허락을 받았어요 허락을 받을 거예요
묻다 * to ask  물어요 물었어요  물을 거예요
놓다 to put  놓아요  놓았어  놓을 거예요

KDA Class 23

Verb English Present Past Future
지나다  to pass  지나요 지났어요  지날 거예요

KDA Class 24

Verb English Present Past Future
* 부르다 to call 불러요 불렀어요 부를 거예요
만지다 to touch 만져요 만졌어요 만질 거예요
생각하다 to think 생각해요 생각했어요 생각할 거예요
This entry was posted in Korean, Not Learning and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Leaves game, not learning

  1. This is so useful! I can use this as my “cheat sheet” 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Person – Action – Object Mnemonic | Hanguk Babble

  3. Pingback: Verbs – an overview | Hanguk Babble

Leave a Reply

