How “I did” get hung up trying to read Korean

There is a sort of being lost in confusion while learning a language that is suppose to clear up like you’ve wandered in a fog and one day the fog clears.

Well, I am still in the fog.

Let me give you an example.  I discover the word 하였지요 in “The Giving Tree”.

I can guess this is a hada verb 하다.  With those bottom ㅆ I can guess it is past tense.  요 is a polite ending.  지 is a mystery to me.

I try searching for 하였지요 in zKorean.  Nothing.

I try searching for 하였지요 in Naver dictionary.  No exact match.  Only a sample sentence:

These marks would then tell the people the time.듣기
이 표시점이 바로 시간을 알려주는 역할을 하였지요.

I try Google Translate next.  It give me “I did”.

LingQ tells me it might mean “Let’s were.”

I scratch my head confused.  I did want to know what that word means, but I don’t any more.  I’m tired now.  Dictionary humor?  Everything seems funny when you are still studying at 3 am.  haha

This entry was posted in Korean, Learning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How “I did” get hung up trying to read Korean

  1. Dam says:

    Hi. I thought I could help you out a bit. ‘하였지요’ is another polite word for ‘했습니다’. But the connotation is slightly different. It’s difficult to describe this in English but ‘하였지요’ can be considered to be a bit more poetic? or gentle in a way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

