Minimal Effective Dose of Grammar Study

Some times working like crazy can be inefficient, and possibly self destructive, proposes author Matthew-Grey Smith in an article Minimal Effective Dose. The Minimal Effective Dose is simply the smallest amount of input that will produce the desired result, and anything beyond that is wasteful.

I asked the ROKStars to translate the 12 sentences mentioned in the article, so I could study their grammar structure.  I got two approaches, one “formal” from Peter Floyd, and one in the “common” level from Stephanie Thompson.  A sincere thanks to both for their assistance.

Stephanie Thompson / Peter Floyd

The apple is red.
사과가 빨간색이에요.
빨간 사과 입니다.

It is John’s apple.
사과가 존의 것이이요.
존의 사과 입니다.

I give John the apple.
존한테 사과를 줘요.
나는 존에게 사과를 줍니다.

We give him the apple.
사과 줘요.
우리는 그남자를 사과를 줍니다.

He gives it to John.
존한테 사과를 줘요.
그남자는 존에게 그것을 줍니다.

She gives it to him.
그것을 줘요.
그녀는 그것을 그남자에게 줍니다.

Is the apple red?
사과가 빨간색이에요?
빨간 사과 입니까?

The apples are red.
사과가 빨간색이에요.
빨간 사과 입니다.

I must give it to him.
그것을 주어야해요.
나는 그에게 그것을 해야 줍니다.

I want to give it to her.
그것을 주고싶어요.
나는 그녀에게주고 싶습니다.

I’m going to know tomorrow.
내일 알고 있을거예요.
내일 알 겁니다.

I can’t eat the apple.
사과를 못 먹거요.
나는 사과를 먹을 수 없습니다.

The sentences remind me of Glossika Mass Sentences.  I believe I will make progress when such simple sentence structures are so ingrained that they come immediately to mind.

Sample sentences from Glossika

Sample sentences from Glossika

This entry was posted in Korean, Learning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

