Clause

I am not grasping clauses.

Take these two example sentences about liking raw fish.

나는 회를 좋아해요.

나는 회가 좋아요.

You use one form of the verb 좋아하다 when there is an object 를 and another form when there is 가 좋다. I just can’t quite grasp why or how these two sentences differ in meaning.

I tried to do some sentence diagramming. I know Korean isn’t English and I can’t expect a one-to-one mapping. However, there is some concept about clauses that I simply don’t get. I didn’t get it when tutor brought up the topic. I didn’t get it when BS Shen tried to explain. I didn’t get it when I watched Korean Digital Academy’s video 13d which covered this topic.

Can anyone explain it to me?

sentence_raw_fish

The clause has a subject and a verb and attaches to the subject, Rob explains.  sentence_raw_fish2

Perhaps the problem is not remembering what a clause means in English?

Dictionary defines a clause as a grammatical unit with a subject and predicate. A clause may be either a sentence (an independent clause) or a sentence-like construction within another sentence (a dependent or subordinate clause).

Yet with Korean’s tendency to drop the subject, I wonder if my concept of dependent and independent clauses makes sense.  It has to be informed by those particles 는 / 가 / 를.  I just don’t grasp it yet.

kimchi

 

 

This entry was posted in Korean, Learning and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Clause

  1. alina says:

    Wow your textbook has a rather convoluted way of explaining things.

    I thought independent and dependent clauses in English were like:
    Independent clause: I went sightseeing. (It makes sense as a sentence by itself)
    Dependent clause: When I was in New York. (It must be connected to an Independent Clause to give additional information)

    Regarding the Korean part of this, I think of it kind of like this

    나는 김치가 좋아요.
    To me, kimchi is good.
    In this case I would consider “나는” kind of like “As for me”

    나는 김치를 좋아해요.
    I like kimchi.

    When talking about yourself, I’ve heard these two sentences are pretty much interchangeable. However, when you are talking about someone else, you must use the 을/를 좋아하다 form.

    (O) 민주는 김치를 좋아해요.
    (X) 민주는 김치가 좋아요.

    I am not an expert in Korean so I can’t guarantee this is the best explanation for you, but it’s how I remember things. Maybe you can ask a Korean friend? Otherwise, hope that helps @_@!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It is pretty much like alina said ^^. These particles doesn’t have a meaning per se because their only function is to mark what is the subject or object (complement) of the sentence.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

