Nonesense and Grammar thing-a-bobs

I struggled and ranted about my issue with not knowing what things are named in Korean grammar.  It was a total sidetrack.  But maybe the rant will amuse you?  Haha.

Dr. Seuss, that beloved children’s author, was famous for his nonsense words.

nonsense

There is an impressive list of nonsense words for musical instruments just before the Grinch complains “Oh the noise, noise, noise, noise, noise. There’s one thing I hate, all the noise, noise, noise, noise!”  Me, I hate nonsense words.  Stop banging the bangboozzler!  (or whatever that thing is called)

And the Grinch, with his grinch-feet ice-cold in the snow, Stood puzzling and puzzling: "How could it be so? And he puzzled three hours, `till his puzzler was sore. Then the Grinch thought of something he hadn't before!

And the Grinch, puzzled three hours, `till his puzzler was sore. Then the Grinch thought of something he hadn’t before!

I did finally make some progress in getting names.  If you are curious, see my Grammar Terms under Reference menu.

There is a name for what you call both active and descriptive verbs.

Predicate are verbs and adjectives, and they change.  Substantives are nouns, pronouns, and numbers, and they don’t change.  The chunk you stick on to a verb stem has a name: “어미(ending)”.  The chunks of letters without a space are syntactic word.  Adverbs and determiners are lumped together in a group called modifier.  That whatchamacallit that attached to things to tell their relationship between words is called a particle.

I don’t know why knowing these things helps me to sleep better at night, but it is true.   Haha.

Knowing the words Koreans use for grammar and how they perceive language gives me big clues as to the mechanics of working with it.

Stop here.  Really.  The rest is just the RANT.

What is the point of naming things?  I know some people can just absorb grammar naturally from hearing a few sample sentences, but I have trouble processing language. Perhaps it is the dyslexia.  Perhaps it is just that surprisingly I am at a higher level of grammar in Korean than I reached in 4 years of Spanish.  Or perhaps Korean language is just fundamentally different than anything I have ever experienced before in grammar.

Whatever the cause, the result is I have felt a great deal of anxiety about not being able to put a name to this grammar thing-a-bobs that Korean Digital Academy was trying to teach me in classes 20 – 24.  Being ask to apply a grammar thing-a-bob when I can’t even figure out what it IS has me tied up in knots.

Kmaru groups it’s grammar this way.

types_grammar

Chris said, don’t worry about the terms, just practice making sentences.  However, my brain just doesn’t work that way.  I totally can’t start to process the language if I don’t know what the building blocks are and the rules to assemble them.

It is like being asked to cook something without any idea of the ingredients or recipe, blindfolded, and expect an edible result.  I have no clue what is going on.  I can’t even start.

I am use to working like this:

  • grammar rules (G is constructed from A, B, and C)
  • logical statements (G is true if A, B, and C are true)
  • procedures (to solve task G solve subtasks A, B, and C)
  • object-oriented (Apple is of class Fruit)

I totally got side tracked trying to figure this out on my own wandering through pages like these:

Dependency Grammar has a one-to-one relationship (as opposed to Phrase structure grammar) Predicate grammar Meaning-text theory

 

 

This entry was posted in Korean, Learning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

