Korean is a quick change artist

It occurred to me that Korean is a quick change artist.  I pictured words going into a dressing room, and out they come having changed into a different part of speech.

korean_actress_Song_Hye_Gyo_she_wearing_the_dress_from_a_popular_korean_drama_Full_HouseRemember all those Korean dramas that have a make-over scene, where the girl is transformed like Cinderella? For example, in “Full House”, he drags her to a store to buy a dress.  Well, Korean language has that too.  A verb walks into a dressing room, and comes out a noun modifier, an adjective, an adverb.

All you have to know to make this miracle happen is what grammar to slip into.

Of course, English is similar.  Throw on ‘ly’ and you’ve got an adverb.  Tack on ‘ing’ and you have a gerund.

I’m tempted to make a whole chart of Korean grammar and how they change.  I can see me visiting Grammaropolis, and wasting a lot of time drawing changing room curtains with Lucy the descriptive verb 형용사 popping in and coming out wearing 게 to become an adverb 부사.  Vinnie the action verb 동사 might shed his superhero cape to put on 는, ㄴ, 은, ㄹ, or 을 to become an adjective (noun modifier 명사 수식어) .  Connie the conjunction 접속사 even runs a dress shop.  I am sure she’d help pick out the right clothes for each part of speech 품사 in Nountown to wear.

conjunction_stillconjunction_well

I’m humming the Nountown song now in my head.  Haha.  A real toe-tapper!  My life is better with singing nouns.  🙂

singing_noun

I can picture the whole colorful scene in my head, and want to spend an entire day drawing it all.  But I restrain myself.  That will be a project for another day.

Glossary of Linguistic Terms  I feel a bit weird having the need to know the grammar terms for things to understand Korean language.  But it leads to wonderful discoveries.  Yesterday, KDA teacher Joonhee 준희 told me FYI that in Korean grammar, 이다 doesn’t belong in verbs, instead it is a descriptive 조사 (postposition) as it is different from verbs … so it doesn’t necessarily follow the clock theory.  That makes sense to me!  I always thought 입니다 – 이에요 – 예요 – 이야 acted differently than other verbs.

I need to befriend a linguist who speaks both English and Korean.  🙂  I have questions!

Compound Noun

This entry was posted in Korean, Learning and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

