A little bit of everything

Benny Lewis wrote WHY HARD WORK ISN’T WHAT MAKES GOOD LEARNERS

Benny is like the good friend who points out trying to do everything all at once is getting me nowhere. I nod in agreement. “I know, I know, what I am doing isn’t working.” Then off I go to continue to try to do it all. Dope slap!

“trying to become a master of everything at once will not allow you to make progress on anything specific swiftly enough to feel progress, and you can get demotivated.” – Benny Lewis

I am a dabbler.  I have learned many things, but I have yet to do enough of the right combination of things in a focused way to yield speaking and listening ability.  It is hard work being so scattered!

Benny asks “are you doing busy work, or are you applying discipline and a plan of action to fix real problems?”

This entry was posted in Korean, Learning. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A little bit of everything

  1. What do you think you should do? That one thing you should do but you’re not doing yet? I’m just curious.

    Like

    • jreidy17 says:

      There are 4 basics: writing, reading, speaking, listening. For the next 85 days, I should focus on speaking and listening, not be distracted by every shiny thing. But I probably will fail. I like investigating shiny new things, even if they aren’t on my plan of study.

      Like

Leave a Reply

