Take Charge of your own Learning

Do you passively wait to be taught by a teacher or textbook?  Or do you actively seek out the knowledge you need to speak your target language?

Active, engaged learners are far more successful than passive learners.

I was a passive learner in my 4 years of high school Spanish.  I am an active learner of Korean.  That is why I say that even though I am still finding my way, I am further along in Korean in 1 year than I achieved in 4 years of Spanish study.

I am glad to have the advice of folks who have already walked this path of learning.  I have taken sidetracks along the way.  I am deeply grateful to Rob Julien, Woojae Jun, and my many Korean mentor-friends-language-exchange-partners for their help.  They have seen my consistent-but-often-misguided efforts.  I believe they are willing to work with me because I actively seek to learn.

There is a saying “when the student is ready, the teacher will appear.”  When you take charge of your own learning, you become a student teachers want to teach.

This entry was posted in Korean, Learning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Take Charge of your own Learning

  1. True, no one can do your learning for you, so you’d better take charge of your learning.

    Like

Leave a Reply

