Poem: I make my home in the mountains

I Make My Home in the Mountains            Li Po
You ask why I live
alone in the mountain forest

and I smile and am silent
until even my soul grows quiet

It lives in the other world
one that no one owns.

The peach trees blossom
The water continues to flow.

I come humbly to the bamboo grove
Each day hoping to embrace the way

poem 山中問答 by 李白

問余何意棲碧山

笑而不答心自閒。

桃花流水窅然去,

別有天地非人間。

Li Po (Li Pai or Li Bai) lived 701 — 762 is a major Chinese poet of the Tang dynasty poetry period. He has been regarded as one of the greatest poets in China’s Tang period, which is often called China’s “golden age” of poetry.

Find more poetry in A Drifting Boat – Chinese Zen Poetry.
White Pine Press. Edited by J.P. Seaton & Dennis Maloney

This entry was posted in Nature, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

