Starting again: my language mountain to climb

“after a few wasted moments of despair, I discarded the negativity, and just got started on it. I stopped thinking about all the problems I had, stopped being such a crybaby and just got on with it.

Whatever countless number of steps awaited me didn’t matter. The way I got to the top was simply by focusing on making each step” – Benny Lewis, Fluent in 3 Months

If I am honest with myself, this summer has been a vacation from Korean language learning.  Now I am trying to start up learning again, and I feel like I am at the bottom of a very big mountain.

It is 3 am, and the despair of trying to relearn what I have forgotten seems overwhelming.

To get myself started, yesterday I worked on putting away anything from my living room not part of my planned 2 week Korean immersion. I made some progress, but still not done. Then I printed out the KDA vocabulary, the 50 questions to be filled in Korean, and the Key to Korean Fluency verb conjugation workbook.  That’s a mountain of work!

It is not easy to pry myself away from the Chinese characters, brush painting, and meditation retreats, even for 2 weeks.

I thought I could just sit down and review all the material non-stop, but I need breaks.  I thought I would just quickly copy down the sentences from my KDA classes Level 1 & 2 as a review.  As usual, I underestimated how much work that would be.  I’m still trying to get myself to remember to SPEAK the sentences as I am writing them.

All in all, I know this has to be taken one step at a time.  I can’t sprint to the top of the mountain.

At this moment, it feels like learning Korean language is the hard work, and Chinese brush painting is the play.  I’m feeling fear about speaking and writing in Korean.  I’m up at 4 am worrying.

Yesterday, I went to the Museum of Contemporary Art (MassMoCA) with my stack of Korean vocabulary pages, intending to study.  I ended up in the museum gift shop admiring watercolor crayons and brush pens.  Maybe it is OK that I study a bit, then take a rest break of art, as long as I work towards climbing that mountain of Korean.  The goal is to stay focused on Korean language learning, but I can’t concentrate non-stop.  My internal struggle continues …

Hope my sharing my struggles helps to inspire you on your language learning journey.  One step at a time, and we will make it to that mountain top!

20150710_062133[1]

This entry was posted in Korean, Learning. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Starting again: my language mountain to climb

  1. Chul Moon says:

    Cheer up, Julia!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

