Hanja for Cimi: 月 moon, month 월

月 moon, month 월

The traditional Chinese calendar is based on the lunar cycle, so the character 月 can translate to both “moon” and “month”.  The curve is because originally the picture was a crescent moon.

Chineasy_FB_Compounds_PINYIN_Moon

In Korean, months are simply the month plus number. For example, January is month 1, February is month 2, March is month 3, etc. 1월, 2월, 3월, etc. So in Hanja, it is just 一月, 二月, 三月, etc.

June combines the number 六 (six) and the character 月 (moon).

Chineasy_FB_Phrases_January_JuneChineasy_FB_Phrases_January_December

Mandarin Chinese numbers: 1 一 2 二 3 三 4 四 5 五 6 六 7 七 8 八 9 九 10 十

Sino-Korean Numbers: 1 일 2 이 3 삼 4 사  5 오 6  육 7 칠 8 팔 9 구 10 십

Months: 1 January 일월 2 February 이월 3 March 삼월 4 April 사월 5 May 오월 6 June 유월 * 7 July칠월 8 August 팔월 9 September 구월 10 October 시월 * 11 November 십일월 12 December 십이월

When you put two moons together, you get friend.

chineasy_webv2_moon-_friends_set

When you put sun and moon together, you get bright.

Chineasy_FB_Compounds_PINYIN_BrightBright-day-tomorrow

 

Notice moon has 4 strokes: a down left stroke, a turning stroke with a hook, and two horizontal strokes.

moonstrokes

If you are interested in hanja, check out Everything you ever wanted to know about hanja. Plenty of Koreans have told me that learning hanja is not necessary. I simply find learning a few simple Chinese characters to be intellectually stimulating.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Korean, Learning and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hanja for Cimi: 月 moon, month 월

  1. jekkilekki says:

    Thanks for the link back to our site. I also find learning some Chinese characters to be intellectually stimulating. I actually have a 3-year background in studying Chinese formally in university though, which is another reason I enjoy adding some Hanja studies to my Korean.

    By the way, I’ve enjoyed your other posts on learning Korean on this site before. I enjoy reading about other people’s experiences learning Korean. Might I ask how long you’ve been at it, how far along your ability has progressed, and what your ambitions are for learning/using it in the future? As for me, I’ve lived in Jeonju Korea for about 9 years teaching English. I’m currently an Intermediate student (beyond TOPIK Level 2, but not up to 3 yet), and I hope to someday get a job in a Korean company for web/WordPress/graphic design.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jreidy17 says:

      I have been interested in learning some Korean for a year. It has been about 9 months that I actually decided that meant I would have to study and signed up for Korean Digital Academy. I am self-directed. Korean is my first “second language” so I am learning how to learn. I live in America, but I have met some Koreans online. My goal would be to continue to chat and email my new Korean friends while working on writing more Korean sentences. I am very much a beginner. I know about 300 words, can conjugate verbs, and s-l-o-w-l-y make sentences with lots of errors. I struggle at speaking, but work with a tutor has improved my pronunciation. Korean opens up a world of culture I knew nothing about, and it remains fascinating to me.

      Like

Leave a comment